Apple Valley Review:
A Journal of Contemporary

ISSN 1931-3888

Volume 15, Number 1
(Spring 2020)

Copyright © 2020
by Leah Browning, Editor.  

All future rights to material
published in the
Valley Review
are retained
by the individual authors
and artists.
de Débora Benacot

Una tienda al lado de otra
y otra
y otra más

y en todas
gente formando fila

seres comunes y corrientes
esperando su turno
para hacerse sobre el cuerpo
algo igual

que los distinga.
by Débora Benacot
(translated from the Spanish by Margaret Young)

One store next to another
and another
and one more

and at all of them
people are lining up

ordinary beings
waiting their turn
to put on their bodies
something identical

that will set them apart.
by Débora Benacot
(translated from the Spanish by Margaret Young)

So they practiced
with the ruins
of love
that remained.

I never saw
a contest more brutal
or imperceptible.
de Débora Benacot

Entonces practicaron
con los restos
del amor
que conservaban.

Nunca se vio
contienda más brutal
ni imperceptible.
de Débora Benacot

Alguien duerme
cada noche
con la ausencia
de alguien más
cosida a su costado

en la cama ya no cabe otro naufragio

pero ella sabe
—Alicia le ha enseñado—
que también es posible nadar
entre las lágrimas.
by Débora Benacot
(translated from the Spanish by Margaret Young)

Someone sleeps
every night
with the absence
of someone else
stitched into her side

in the bed that can’t fit another shipwreck

but she knows
—Alicia has taught her—
it is also possible to swim
through her tears.


Débora Benacot was born in Mendoza, Argentina, and now
lives in California.  She has published several books including
Ácaros al sol, the recipient of the Escenario award for best
poetry book published in Mendoza in 2011.  The publisher,
Fundíbulo Ediciones, also released Benacot’s
Escrito en un
grano de arroz
, a collection of flash fiction, in 2014, and En
las fotos todavía corre el viento
, a collection of poetry, in
2017.  Her most recent book,
La esperatriz, was released by
Elandamio Ediciones in 2018.  These three untitled poems
originally appeared in Spanish in her book
Pirsin, which was
published by Ediciones Culturales de Mendoza in 2012 and
received the Vendimia poetry award.

Margaret Young’s poetry collections are Willow from the
, published by Cleveland State University Poetry Center
in 2002;
Almond Town, from Bright Hill Press in 2011; and
Blight Summer, which was published by Finishing Line Press
in 2017 and nominated for a Massachusetts Book Award.  Two
books of her translations from the Spanish, Sergio Inestrosa’s
Espacio Improbable de un haikú and Luna que no cesa, have
been published by Obsidiana Press.  Young is on the faculty of
The Global Center for Advanced Studies and lives in Beverly,

Previous page  Apple Valley Review, Spring 2020  Next page