Leah Browning
New Projects

Leah Browning's recent publications include a short story, "Two Good Ears," in The
Homestead Review
(Fall 2016); a poem, "Approaching the Intersection of Princess and
Bath," in the Dialogues section of Coldnoon: Travel Poetics (June 5, 2016); a short
story, "
Double You," in Santa Ana River Review (Spring 2016); a short story, "We Know
You By Your Face," in A Bad Penny Review (May 2016); a short story, "Horse Girls," in
GARO, an online outpost of the Rocky Mountain Land Library (May 19, 2016); a short
story, "
Tiebreakers," in Bellows American Review (April 6, 2016); a poem, "In the Chair
Museum," reprinted in
The Doll Collection, an anthology edited by Diane Lockward
(2016); a short story, "
Threads," in First Class Literary Magazine (March 18, 2016); a
short story, "
Elise in Italy," in Waypoints (March 2016); a sequence of three short stories,
reprinted as "Little Signs," in the anthology
Nothing to Declare: A Guide to the Flash
Sequence (2016); a poem, "Refrain," reprinted in The Literary Review (February 3,
2016); a short story, "Where You Belong," in
Nebo (Fall 2015); a short story, "What You
See," in Lime Hawk (Fall 2015); a short story, "5290 Bear Creek," in Wigleaf (December
1, 2015); a short story, "
Vintage Binoculars," in Thin Air Magazine (November 29, 2015);
a short story, "
Thunder," in Gnarled Oak (November 4, 2015); a short story, "Orchard
City," in 100 Word Story (September 10, 2015); a short story, "The Lemon Seed," in
Myth+Magic, a limited edition anthology from Sugared Water and Porkbelly Press
(2015); a poem, "
Paris," in Autumn Sky Poetry Daily (June 3, 2015); a short story, "Elise
in Croatia," in LitroNY (May 31, 2015); a short story, "Jeopardy," in Chagrin River Review
(Spring 2015); three poems—"
Crossing from One Continent to the Next," "The Blue
Room," and "Time Loops Back on Itself"—in Amygdala (May 14, 2015); a short piece,
How to Get a Woman in the Mood," in The Big Jewel (May 6, 2015); a short story, "Don't
Do It," in A Quiet Courage (April 17, 2015); a poem, "Visiting Hours," in Mud Season
Review (March 2015); a short story, "Small Talk," in Fiction Southeast (February 12,
2015); a short story, "
Gravel," in Toad (February 2015); and a short story, "The Miniaturist
(life-sized installation, mixed media)," reprinted in Storyscape Literary Journal:
Anthology Two (2015).

Any Day Now" (November 23, 2014) and "More than 1,000 Dead Birds Fall from the Sky
in Arkansas" (January 25, 2015) were reprinted in A Year of Being Here.  "Any Day Now"
is also available on a
printable broadside with original artwork by Sarah Browning.

The Spring 2016 issue of the
Apple Valley Review is available online.  

A Brief Bio

Leah Browning has worked as a freelance writer and editor since 1995.  She is the
author of three nonfiction books for teens and pre-teens:
Babysitting Basics, Babysitting
, and Sleepovers, all published by Capstone Press.  Her first chapbook of poetry,
Making Love to the Same Man for Fifteen Years, was published by Big Table Publishing
in 2009.  The second and third,
Picking Cherries in the Española Valley and In the
Chair Museum, were published by Dancing Girl Press in 2010 and 2013, respectively.  
Her first chapbook of short fiction,
Things I Remember When I'm Sober, was released
by Silent Station Press in 2015.  

Browning's fiction, poetry, essays, and articles have previously appeared in a variety of
publications including
Queen's Quarterly, 42opus, The Saint Ann's Review, Bluestem
azine, Blood Orange Review, Dressing Room Poetry Journal, Fiction 365, The
Citron Review, Corium Magazine, Per Contra, Halfway Down the Stairs, The Literary
Bohemian, The Blue Hour Magazine, Wigleaf, 971 MENU, Storyscape Journal, 300
Days of Sun
, Glassworks Magazine, and Autumn Sky Poetry, as well as on a broadside
Broadsided Press, on postcards and bookmarks from the program Poetry Jumps
Off the Shelf, in The Wardrobe, in several anthologies, and with audio and video
recordings in
The Poetry Storehouse.  Nic Sebastian's short film for "There's Nothing,"
which first appeared in The Poetry Storehouse, was the
Poets & Writers Clip of the Day
on July 10, 2014.

Browning's poetry and fiction are forthcoming in
Cordella Magazine, Clementine
Unbound, Newfound, and Cape Fear Review; in Baby Blessings, an anthology from
Andrews McMeel Publishing; and in her fourth chapbook of poetry,
Out of Body, from
Dancing Girl Press.

In addition to writing, Browning serves as editor of the
Apple Valley Review, an online
literary journal.  Each issue features a collection of poetry, short fiction, and essays.  

For a more detailed bio and a list of selected publications, please
click here.  
Leah Browning
Site copyright © 2005-2016 by Leah Browning.  All rights reserved.